naplo_1938_1939

Napló 1938/1939

Napló 1938/1939

May 4th

2022. május 04. - pajkrh

We went to the Ptia (?) this morning with Father, which I thought quite unnecessary and made me nervous. – Went to Father Omer. later on and told him all about the left ones and other doubts on that account. I believe I’m quite alright now at last, but really I’m completely at loss when I look at the picture I have of myself. Really terrible. All is out now however and I’m to turn over a new leaf which I mean to do. No flirtations in future for me anyway I know now they have no value whatever and the after effects, the consequent feelings etc. are only the worse for them. So they’re blown to the winds. Was at Marietta’s in the evening. Apparently dear Michael is better though is still to stay in bed for three weeks. All sorts of misfortunes happened to them yesterday it seems, the anti geyser blew up terrifying the maid out of her wits and shocking the invalid the nurse + her too. The old family Dr., Stitzel (?) was there too and blurted out the great secret that 3 more weeks in bed are needed etc. To my opinion though it is much better to tell the exact truth especially in such case, when it is a matter of patience only. Or so it seems. By the way was at Dr. Laki’s (?) beforehand, again he gave a hateful injection, which gave me a nasty feeling this time and I got a bit weak. He made me walk at first then made me lie down for a moment. I was a bit shocked and took the wrong turning when leaving to the enormous amusement of his housekeeper who unexpectedly opened the door for me. What more I passed the door I ought to have get in at the Parliement House, where I went to a lecture on the Hungarians in Roumania. As I was three quarters of an hour late my appearance gave a slight shock to all and many of the men looked reproachfully at the clock. I wouldn’t have dared to give way to such insolence anyway if I wouldn’t have known the habit by that nice young man (Pusztai-Popovics) who gave the lecture. He simply can’t stop, goes on an on and the end is usually the most interesting part. As I expected the lecture was a long one even longer than I expected it to be, was finished at 7.45. A nice time. There weren’t many present. But it was an amazing day. First that uncomfortable business of going to the Bank than that daring conf. business, than a lot to do at home, than a rushed dressing, than a late visit to the Dr. where naturally when in a hurry one has to wait than that daring injection, a long lecture, than Marietta’s visit.

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://1938.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr3717823277

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása