naplo_1938_1939

Napló 1938/1939

Napló 1938/1939

April 22nd

2022. április 22. - pajkrh

Spoke with Marietta on the ‘phone first, then went to see her after gymn. Or rather it should have been after gym. but somehow I lost sense of time and it was too late by the time went to change. So instead of gymn. went to have my hands manicured + to the chiropodist. Then to Marietta. Marietta was already waiting for me at the door. She told me all about his brother’s illness. It was pneumonia after all and the crisis was on Tuesday evening. Apparently he had a too large dose of the injection against it, for at night and in the evening unconscious his heart failed. The Dr was there fortunately and spent the night there what more ‘phoned for another Dr. Poor Michael when he saw the two of the he told Marietta a try to have the last sacraments given to him if the Drs should say he was worse. Somehow they didn’t send for a priest after all. When she told me about this I couldn’t control myself any longer and somehow the tears just fell, being already on the brink of tears when she told me beforehand how very badly the elder brother took it. Apparently when out of the sickroom he had fits of sleeping poor man. I was awfully sorry for him and took back in my mind all the nasty thoughts I ever had of him. As a matter of fact I liked him ages before I got fond of Michael. To come to the point a third Prof. was asked too and the Dr spends every night with him since. He has a nurse too day + night, nuns. The Prof. said that it would take a very long time for him to get completely well, and even when he will feel himself quite alright and strong, he mustn’t leave the bed. So all my beautiful plans or rather only thoughts of plans are apparently off. Unless things are not as bad as the Dr’s in view of his peculiar circumstances state. By the way I seemed to do exactly the right thing by shedding a few convenient tears at the right time they were true however and very ? and very bitter ones, although I did powder my nose at once, for Marietta spoke with approval of the employers doing the same apparently at the right psychological moment too and with disclaim of such who didn’t. In this I can’t be of the same opinion however, for there are people who simply can’t show their feelings, or they are too shy reserved at fine to do so like myself, and do their darned best to control themselves. In which case apparently they might be disapproved of by such who judge by appearances only. – To come to the point again the poor boy seems to be better though still not out of danger. – We had tea afterwards, her Father came too. He seemed to have been ? of how things stood. And when I left I’m sorry to say quite late I met the elder bro’ outside and had a little chat with him. Strangely enough we came to speak of matrimony too rather in-appropriate at the moment. I don’t know how I stand with the man.

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://1938.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr5317812267

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása